Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23
  1. #1
    WarWood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    2,092
    Reputation
    113
    Thanks
    222
    My Mood
    Worried

    Need help in installing a gpu.

    So I have my old ATI RADEON HD 4850 gpu Screenshot by Lightshot

    I'm afraid to install it because I think my PC is old: Dell Inspiron 530 Specs - Desktops - CNET Reviews

    If their will be any problems please tell me the solutions.
    @Doc I think you can help me.

  2. #2
    TheFlyingDutchman''s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    On my haunted flying pirate ship
    Posts
    3,326
    Reputation
    325
    Thanks
    593
    My Mood
    Psychedelic
    Just try to attach it.
    If it doesn't fit, it's to old
    "People don't change.
    Circumstances do."


    "Trying to find succes without working hard is like trying to harvest where you did not sow"















    Bullpop












    Will be my supp in LoL


    You spin me right round right round

  3. #3
    Blake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Aruncuno#1Fakeassnigga
    Posts
    7,653
    Reputation
    1428
    Thanks
    1,734
    My Mood
    Amused
    Mother board supports : PCI Express x16

    GPU interface:
    PCI Express 2.0 x16

    It will be fine seeing how the gpu is old and so is your computer. As long as you have enough power(psu) it should be able to work.

    Tell me what power supply you have.

    "450 Watt or greater power supply with 75 Watt 6-pin PCI Express power connector recommended (550 Watt and two 6-pin connectors for ATI CrossFireX technology in dual mode)"

    If you have that^ you will be fine.

  4. #4
    Oneirish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    3Oh!3, Colorado
    Posts
    4,573
    Reputation
    876
    Thanks
    865
    My Mood
    Inspired
    could conflict due to power. I installed this beast:

    RADEON HD6990



    ---------- Post added at 03:53 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:47 AM ----------

    i also want to jerry rig that graphics card into my $2000 asus laptop like this:


  5. #5
    WarWood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    2,092
    Reputation
    113
    Thanks
    222
    My Mood
    Worried
    Quote Originally Posted by Blake View Post
    Mother board supports : PCI Express x16

    GPU interface:
    PCI Express 2.0 x16

    It will be fine seeing how the gpu is old and so is your computer. As long as you have enough power(psu) it should be able to work.

    Tell me what power supply you have.

    "450 Watt or greater power supply with 75 Watt 6-pin PCI Express power connector recommended (550 Watt and two 6-pin connectors for ATI CrossFireX technology in dual mode)"

    If you have that^ you will be fine.
    I don't really know but as far as the website says it's Screenshot by Lightshot 300 Watts so it needs 450 Watts power supply?

  6. #6
    Oneirish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    3Oh!3, Colorado
    Posts
    4,573
    Reputation
    876
    Thanks
    865
    My Mood
    Inspired
    Quote Originally Posted by ASoldSoul View Post
    I don't really know but as far as the website says it's Screenshot by Lightshot 300 Watts so it needs 450 Watts power supply?
    you'll have to upgrade or else it'll not work or fuck something up.

  7. #7
    WarWood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    2,092
    Reputation
    113
    Thanks
    222
    My Mood
    Worried
    Quote Originally Posted by Oneirish View Post
    you'll have to upgrade or else it'll not work or fuck something up.
    Yeah I'll upgrade it and my friend told me it might burn my cpu

  8. #8
    Oneirish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    3Oh!3, Colorado
    Posts
    4,573
    Reputation
    876
    Thanks
    865
    My Mood
    Inspired
    Quote Originally Posted by ASoldSoul View Post
    Yeah I'll upgrade it and my friend told me it might burn my cpu
    you can cook eggs on that bitch. Probably want to think about installing more fans as well, healthier for the machine anyway

    I took old computer fans, cut the wires and attached them the end of a USB cord. Made a usb mini fan and set like 4 of them (i have a fuck load of usb spliters) and set them up to attach to the back. nice when i need to take them off

  9. #9
    Denelf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    DEAD
    Posts
    5,323
    Reputation
    422
    Thanks
    639
    2GB ram, and dual core...
    You might aswell just buy a new computer lol

  10. #10
    WarWood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    2,092
    Reputation
    113
    Thanks
    222
    My Mood
    Worried
    Quote Originally Posted by Oneirish View Post
    you can cook eggs on that bitch. Probably want to think about installing more fans as well, healthier for the machine anyway

    I took old computer fans, cut the wires and attached them the end of a USB cord. Made a usb mini fan and set like 4 of them (i have a fuck load of usb spliters) and set them up to attach to the back. nice when i need to take them off
    Maybe some burgers
    And @Denelf yeah I'll buy a gaming PC for like 900$ when I get good IGCSE results.

  11. #11
    Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    female
    Location
    In your meatus
    Posts
    23,573
    Reputation
    2920
    Thanks
    5,343
    My Mood
    Twisted
    It'll work AFAIK, but your CPU and shit will bottleneck. But you'll still see a performance boost in games that don't utilise the CPU much.

  12. #12
    WarWood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    2,092
    Reputation
    113
    Thanks
    222
    My Mood
    Worried
    Quote Originally Posted by Doc View Post
    It'll work AFAIK, but your CPU and shit will bottleneck. But you'll still see a performance boost in games that don't utilise the CPU much.
    So is their any solutions?

  13. #13
    Death''s Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    General
    Posts
    1,096
    Reputation
    133
    Thanks
    74
    Quote Originally Posted by ASoldSoul View Post
    So is their any solutions?
    Buy another PC.. lol

  14. #14
    Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    female
    Location
    In your meatus
    Posts
    23,573
    Reputation
    2920
    Thanks
    5,343
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Quote Originally Posted by ASoldSoul View Post
    So is their any solutions?
    Not much other than get a new PC.

  15. #15
    WarWood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    2,092
    Reputation
    113
    Thanks
    222
    My Mood
    Worried
    Quote Originally Posted by Doc View Post


    Not much other than get a new PC.
    I can't atm. ,when I finish my IGCSE exams I'll sell this crap and build my new computer. @Death'
    So I need a good thing that may make it work fine.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [Help Request] Need help to install DLC's
    By kaybenjamin in forum DayZ Help & Requests
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-22-2013, 04:05 AM
  2. [Solved] Need help with installing Modloader and Audiomod, among other things.
    By sasuke33192 in forum Minecraft Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-25-2012, 10:59 AM
  3. [Help Request] Need Help With Installing Model Change Mods
    By VLG in forum Combat Arms Mod Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-27-2011, 08:15 PM
  4. Need help with installing SP2 on Windows Vista 32-bit
    By jahsha9907 in forum Combat Arms Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-25-2009, 10:43 PM
  5. I need help with installing PHPBB
    By Katie_Perry in forum PHP Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-09-2009, 07:03 AM