Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Reav3R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Ж█R▓£▒λ░ν▒З▓Я█Ж
    Posts
    3,742
    Reputation
    205
    Thanks
    250
    My Mood
    Angelic

    Post [FIX] How to fix the slow download speeds on EA Origin

    Hello!

    After months of struggling with the worst DRM ever created and childish EA support, I have came up with some useless solutions for this annoying problem.

    If you're one of the few lucky people who get full download speeds on Origin, then read and perform these steps to ensure you wouldn't experience this problem in the future. If you're one of the many unlucky people who get really slow download speeds on Origin, then read on. These steps might fix your problem.

    The Problem:

    EA Origin is buggy as hell, from the netcode to the interface. When you attempt to download a game from EA Servers, Origin only establishes a single HTTP connection to the nearest akamai server and uses that to transfer the data. That connection seems to "deteriorate" overtime, as a result the speed decreases gradually. In a nutshell, when you start to download a game on Origin, you seem to get a good speed but as the time passes, speed goes down to crawl. This could happen to anyone, anywhere. To people with hi-speed nets and to people with slower nets alike.

    The Cause:

    From what I gathered, I imagine the cause is a few problem in netcode. First of all, Origin uses only a single connection to download the games which is terrible. Origin also attempts to auto-detect the nearest server to you by checking your DNS Server instead of letting you choose the server from a list (like steam).

    The Solution:

    The solution that I have came up with consists of several steps. As the cause of this problem could be many thing, you might have to do all of these steps to get the best results. On last note, please take the "Restart" parts seriously because they're important (this time, they really are).

    Step 1 - Get a static IP and manual connection settings

    A) Open "Control Panel"
    B) Click on "Network and Sharing Center"
    C) Click on your active connection ("Local Area Connection" probably)
    D) Click on "Details", then press Ctrl + C on your keyboard
    E) Open a text file (notepad) then press Ctrl + V
    F) Close Details page then click on "Properties" then double-click on "Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4)"
    G) Check "Use the following IP address then enter the following details from your text file
    (Properties = Notepad):
    "IP address" = IPv4 Address (Probably 192.168.1.x)
    "Subnet mask" = IPv4 Subnet Mask (
    Probably 255.255.255.0)
    "Default gateway" = IPv4 Default Gateway (
    Probably 192.168.1.1)
    H) Click on "Ok" then Click on "Ok" again and finally click on "Close"
    I) Restart your PC.

    Step 2 - Set your DNS to GoogleDNS & OpenDNS

    A) Open "Control Panel"
    B) Click on "Network and Sharing Center"
    C) Click on your active connection ("Local Area Connection" probably)
    D)
    Click on "Properties" then double-click on "Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4)"
    F) Click on "Advanced" then go to "DNS" tab
    G) Under the place it says "DNS server addresses, in order of use:" click the "Add..." button the add the following IPs in order from up to down(you need to click add again after you enter an IP):
    8.8.8.8
    208.67.222.222
    8.8.4.4
    208.67.220.220

    H) Click on "Ok" three times then click on "Close"
    I) Open "Command Prompt (cmd)" and enter "ipconfig /flushdns" (important)
    J) Restart your PC (you really need to do this)


    Step 3 - Forward the following ports on your router (important)

    In order for origin to work properly, you need to forward the following ports on your router. If you don't know how already, you better google "Port Forwarding" or ask someone who knows. I can't explain it here because it depends on your router brand and model. Here's a list of the ports you need to forward (I'd strongly advise against putting your router in DMZ mode but that could work too):

    TCP: 80; 443; 9960-9969; 1024-1124; 18000; 18120; 18060; 27900; 28910; 29900
    UDP: 1024-1124; 18000; 29900


    You need to restart your router after you forward these ports.

    Step 4 - Disable the Bandwidth Reserved by windows
    A) Open "Run" and enter "gpedit.msc"
    B) Under "Computer Configuration" double-click on "Administrative Templates"
    C) Double-click on "Network" then double-click on "QoS Pack Scheduler"
    D) On the right side of the screen, double-click on "Limit reservable bandwidth"
    E) Check "Enabled" then enter "0" in front of "Bandwidth limit (%)"
    F) Click on "OK"
    G) Restart your PC

    Step 5 - Get the latest Origin update by opting in the beta
    A) Open (login) "EA Origin"
    B) Click on "Origin" then click on "Application Settings"
    C) Scroll down and check "Update to beta version when available"
    D) Restart EA Origin (important)

    So let me know what result you get after doing these steps. I hope this solves the problem for you as it did for me. Feel free to add me on my steam whenever you like and I'd be glad to assist you with any issues you might have.

    Enjoy!

    source: steam forums (my steam forums account, this has been originally posted by myself)
    * Contact Information *
    Yahoo: darkslayer84@yahoo.com
    MSN: parham6@live.com
    Skype: parham649
    ooVoo: Parham6
    * Vouches (Trade Reputation) *
    Vouch #1 - RenardO went first, No Middleman: My Account => His Account
    Vouch #2 - Mr.StoneX went first, No Middleman: My Account => His uPlay+Steam Accounts

  2. #2
    Snape's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Hogwarts
    Posts
    13,889
    Reputation
    855
    Thanks
    2,987
    OK, it's time for u to stop making threads .



  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Snape For This Useful Post:

    [MPGH]Mayion (01-30-2014),Rance-Sama (01-30-2014)

  4. #3
    HeroicXPharaoh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    9,458
    Reputation
    1530
    Thanks
    1,911
    That font just hurts my eyes.. and why the fuck would anyone use Origin?
    Unbowed, Unbent, Unbroken.


     
    If'd you like to donate to support me, shoot me a PM
     
     
    History
    Official Middleman January 15, 2015>May 20, 2015
    Marketplace Minion May 20, 2015>September 24, 2015
    Marketplace Moderator September 24, 2015>October 17, 2015
    Former Staff October 17, 2015>May 10, 2017
    Official Middleman May 10, 2017>November, 2017
    Resigned

  5. #4
    Ghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Under your bed, watching you sleep.
    Posts
    24,674
    Reputation
    3481
    Thanks
    3,603
    i get the double the download speed on origin compared to steam, lul



    My games;

    x

  6. #5
    Anti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    here, sadly
    Posts
    6,625
    Reputation
    1354
    Thanks
    1,241
    Reap3r, just stop.

Similar Threads

  1. [Fixed] How to play the game after infini LOADING screen....
    By Zaynecrisis in forum Realm of the Mad God Help & Requests
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-07-2012, 08:22 AM
  2. [Fix] How to fix the intel graphics card gas black screen
    By jamesouch1 in forum Combat Arms Tutorials
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-09-2012, 10:29 AM
  3. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-09-2011, 08:37 PM
  4. Who has the best download speed?
    By yodaliketaco in forum Spammers Corner
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-20-2010, 06:04 PM
  5. how to fix the error (could not inject) on vista
    By cute bs girl in forum Combat Arms Hacks & Cheats
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-11-2008, 10:41 PM

Tags for this Thread