Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    HeyWASSUP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Gender
    female
    Location
    https://www.teamspeak.com/invite/ts22.gameservers.com/?port=9366
    Posts
    641
    Reputation
    277
    Thanks
    209
    My Mood
    Devilish

    Can u put normal ram and server ram into a pc

    So i have 4gb of dextop ram and i was wondering if i could put 4 more gb of server ram into a pc

  2. #2
    Rance-Sama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Ice
    Posts
    6,337
    Reputation
    653
    Thanks
    8,060
    Yeah, go download some ram faggot and shove it in the server's anus till it bleeds blue.

  3. #3
    Nozomi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    1,350
    Reputation
    494
    Thanks
    211
    Quote Originally Posted by Rance-sama View Post
    Yeah, go download some ram faggot and shove it in the server's anus till it bleeds blue.
    Steps is not clear enough, I caught my dick on the motherboard.



  4. #4
    D.Toretto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    1,105
    Reputation
    271
    Thanks
    190
    My Mood
    Hungover
    Well if you have enough slots you can do it /

  5. #5
    Scarsz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    86
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    17
    My Mood
    Cheeky
    As long as the memory is the same amount of pins as your motherboard supports, you're fine.
    "Don't make me commit a 187." -Franklin Clinton

    Don't like cyan text on a white background? idgaf, fuck you

  6. #6
    Rance-Sama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Ice
    Posts
    6,337
    Reputation
    653
    Thanks
    8,060
    Quote Originally Posted by Scarsz View Post
    As long as the memory is the same amount of pins as your motherboard supports, you're fine.
    Never underestimate a retard.

  7. #7
    Scarsz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    86
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    17
    My Mood
    Cheeky
    Quote Originally Posted by Rance-sama View Post
    Never underestimate a retard.
    Come to think of it, yeah, probably a good idea not to underestimate them.

    >installs ram backwards
    >tries forcing it down to lock them in
    >pins crack
    "Don't make me commit a 187." -Franklin Clinton

    Don't like cyan text on a white background? idgaf, fuck you

  8. #8
    Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    female
    Location
    In your meatus
    Posts
    23,573
    Reputation
    2920
    Thanks
    5,343
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Rather than pretending to know what I'm talking about and say yes, like others in this thread, I will tell you that server RAM is most of the time ECC enabled, buffered memory. MOST of the time.

    Desktop RAM is most of the time ECC disabled (or ECCless), unbuffered memory. ALL the time.

    Now the question lies in whether or not your motherboard has support for ECC enabled, buffered memory. If it does support it then yea go for it. But a lot of the time it won't support it. You have to check the manufacturers website for the QVL or Supported Memory List. For example, almost the entire line of Asus 8 Series motherboard do NOT support ECC, except for the P9D-WS which is a workstation board.


    Or just put the ram in and see if it boots.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Doc For This Useful Post:

    Mokou-Sama (05-07-2014)

  10. #9
    Mokou-Sama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Akihabara
    Posts
    10,064
    Reputation
    481
    Thanks
    689
    My Mood
    Breezy
    Quote Originally Posted by Doc View Post
    Rather than pretending to know what I'm talking about and say yes, like others in this thread, I will tell you that server RAM is most of the time ECC enabled, buffered memory. MOST of the time.

    Desktop RAM is most of the time ECC disabled (or ECCless), unbuffered memory. ALL the time.

    Now the question lies in whether or not your motherboard has support for ECC enabled, buffered memory. If it does support it then yea go for it. But a lot of the time it won't support it. You have to check the manufacturers website for the QVL or Supported Memory List. For example, almost the entire line of Asus 8 Series motherboard do NOT support ECC, except for the P9D-WS which is a workstation board.


    Or just put the ram in and see if it boots.
    Wow, now this was something I didnt know, ty for this explanation Doc
    Formerly known as gamer4evere



     
    Participated on:
    MPGH GAMING NIGHT 08/03/2015 - Town of Salem



  11. #10
    Kodoku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    your waifu's house.
    Posts
    1,311
    Reputation
    541
    Thanks
    188
    I thought you needed the same type of memory. Like if you have one DDR3 you need to buy another one that's DDR3. Could be wrong though.

  12. #11
    Doc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Gender
    female
    Location
    In your meatus
    Posts
    23,573
    Reputation
    2920
    Thanks
    5,343
    My Mood
    Twisted
    Quote Originally Posted by Kodoku View Post
    I thought you needed the same type of memory. Like if you have one DDR3 you need to buy another one that's DDR3. Could be wrong though.
    That's correct. Although it would be a bit hard to fit in different types considering they have different keyhole positions. Unless you you have a combo board like the G41M-COMBO.

  13. #12
    𝕡𝕠𝕔𝕜𝕖𝕥𝕤 𝕤𝕠 𝕗𝕒𝕥
    Admin
    arunforce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Gender
    male
    Location
    A place for amigos
    Posts
    22,706
    Reputation
    3409
    Thanks
    10,672
    My Mood
    Yeehaw
    Most consumer grade motherboards won't support a server RAM stick. Hence why they're differentiated.



    v1.96 - Tutorials, Upgraded Town, Def Revamp
    v1.97 - Cutscenes/Quests, Friend List
    v1.98 - Classes, Necklace/Rings
    v1.99 - Guilds
    v2.00 - Open Beta


  14. #13
    | ∞ |'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    male
    Location
    In a white van.
    Posts
    3,320
    Reputation
    239
    Thanks
    301
    Quote Originally Posted by arunforce View Post
    Most consumer grade motherboards won't support a server RAM stick. Hence why they're differentiated.
    Dude. Just download more ram. I downloaded like 50 gb of ram from Google. I also downloaded more hard drive space too!

Similar Threads

  1. Can someone put a No spread, No Recoil And a bhop Lua hack all together?
    By thelolslols in forum Garry's Mod Discussions & Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-14-2013, 11:17 AM
  2. Black Ops 2: New Processor and Upgraded RAM Testing [FPS Test]
    By 14mth3v01d in forum Call of Duty Black Ops 2 Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-16-2013, 12:12 AM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-31-2013, 02:15 PM
  4. Can you still get sued and/or put in jail?
    By Web-Designer in forum General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-21-2012, 03:01 PM
  5. Can you put the awards and image below
    By Extractional in forum General
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 09-01-2011, 07:37 PM