Thread: Fanatics

Thanks
    My Mood
    Buzzed

Fanatics

So, in march of 2014, I was stationed in Spangdahlem Germany.

That being said, I had to start over as far as cars, because mine was in such shitty and terrible condition, I didn't trust any shipping company with it. When I got here, I originally purchased a 1994 BMW 316is. Worst mistake of my life. That mother fucker was a black hole for money. Fixed everything I knew was wrong with it, sold it for profit somehow, thank god I'm a fucking mechanic, and that was the end of the Beemer. about 2 weeks went by, and I saw a 1994 Volkswagen MK3 Golf GTI for sale in the junk yard on base for $250. Luckily for me, there was a Chevy truck in there at the same time, that everybody else had their eyes on. bid $251 on the Golf, won it a week later. Picked it up, started like a fucking champ. I needed to replace the front right rotor however. That's one of the reasons it was junked. Well, in a Vehicle Maintenance shop, everybody helps everybody. Luckily for me, there was a VW fanatic in my shop that had a carrado project going, that he had to put to a screeching halt because he wasn't going to be here long enough to finish it. Lucky for me again, he's very generous in seeing his old car parts get put to good use. So, put the carrado calipers on the front, bought new rotors and pads, threw em on. Passed inspection a day later. So for a total of $352 I had a decent car, that passed inspection. Inspection here is a HUGE fucking deal, because germans are dicks to americans. Threw the back calipers on, had to do a little modifying to make em fit, and I now have an outstanding big brake upgrade on my golf. 2 days later, somebody junked a golf with a 16 valve motor in it, for a bad exhaust. Pre turbo'd and supercharged. I asked the guy who owns the junk yard how much he wanted for it, and he told me you take it out, you can have it. I was like holy shit, 10 minutes later, I was back and pulling the motor and shiny bits. This lit