Slimenia's shop, right next to the church
    Thanks

I'm interested in learning how to create custom content for Private Servers.

Hi. I'm new here, but I've been lurking for a while in the Realm of the Mad God section. The game has been fun, although as my account is somewhat new, I haven't dabbled in using clients in the game, nor have I really tried out any private servers on the section. I created this account because I've been wondering recently as to what I could create for a Private Server, but I haven't dabbled in coding, well, at all, really. I've heard codeacademy is a good place to start, but a few things first.

-I want to develop server plugins, not actually develop an entirely new Private Server source, version, etc. This extends past simply custom items, custom enemies, custom maps, and other similar content covered in the Sticky.
    -I have no coding knowledge, as stated before. Is there any language I should try to learn first before tackling a version of ActionScript?
    -Which version of ActionScript are Private Servers most often coded in? I know that ActionScript 3 was built from the ground up, making it entirely different from older versions of the code.
    -What should I focus on when learning the proper version of ActionScript in order to make the most out of the tutorials for creating Private Server content?
    -Anything I should watch out for in general?

If any of you here could answer any of these questions above (not necessarily all of them, but that would be great!), I would appreciate it. Thanks.

-Daive
    Last edited by Splodgy Daive; 01-19-2016 at 02:48 AM.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Splodgy Daive View Post
    -I want to develop server plugins, not actually develop an entirely new Private Server source, version, etc. This extends past simply custom items, custom enemies, custom maps, and other similar content covered in the Sticky.