Thread: Tech inquiry

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 36
  1. #1
    Xenon~'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    C:\Windows\System32\Xenon.dll
    Posts
    1,577
    Reputation
    140
    Thanks
    226
    My Mood
    Tired

    Tech inquiry

    hweeeee... how y'all doing?

    just want to ask what i need to do to use 2 external monitors on 1 laptop with only 1 hdmi port.

    i have no experience in doing this and it's my first time. did some researching but would like to get the opinions of others especially those who have similar case with me.

    are there any adapters that i can use for me to use the 2nd monitor? having a dp port is also needed to maximize the features of the monitor but since i dont have any dp port on the laptop that i am using, i'm just using 1 external monitor via hdmi.

    thanks owo.

  2. #2
    Owen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    69
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    6
    It would appear that HDMI does not work well with splitting... so you would get the same picture on multiple monitors if you tried hooking up more than one to your single HDMI port.

    Under "Scenario 2 – One Video Port", it seems like they have a recommendation for a piece of hardware that MIGHT make it work. Not sure if it would be viable to use with gaming or if your computer performance would go down a bit
    https://www.technipages.com/how-to-h...al-displays-pc

    Edit:
    Depending on the laptop, a "dock" might be an option - as said here:
    https://www.dell.com/community/Lapto...I/td-p/5152665

    But the dock has to be compatible, has to have the feature, etc...

    Be sure to do your own research, ask on Amazon Q&A for the products, etc - before you make any purchases
    Last edited by Owen; 12-29-2020 at 06:35 AM.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Owen For This Useful Post:

    Xenon~ (12-29-2020)

  4. #3
    itsMDRZN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Gender
    male
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    24
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    10
    Monitors with DP can use "chain link" to connect from a monitor to a second one, so you would only need one port on the laptop.
    But if the laptop only has an HDMI, I don't think there's a way to connect two monitors and have two different desktops on them.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to itsMDRZN For This Useful Post:

    Xenon~ (12-29-2020)

  6. #4
    princess meme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Gender
    female
    Location
    42.434720, -83.985
    Posts
    4,264
    Reputation
    1038
    Thanks
    1,983
    My Mood
    Drunk
    Last edited by princess meme; 12-29-2020 at 08:34 AM.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to princess meme For This Useful Post:

    Xenon~ (12-29-2020)

  8. #5
    Xenon~'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    C:\Windows\System32\Xenon.dll
    Posts
    1,577
    Reputation
    140
    Thanks
    226
    My Mood
    Tired
    Appreciate all the feedbacks C:

  9. #6
    SolaceMedicare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    17
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Xenon~ View Post
    hweeeee... how y'all doing?

    just want to ask what i need to do to use 2 external monitors on 1 laptop with only 1 hdmi port.

    i have no experience in doing this and it's my first time. did some researching but would like to get the opinions of others especially those who have similar case with me.

    are there any adapters that i can use for me to use the 2nd monitor? having a dp port is also needed to maximize the features of the monitor but since i dont have any dp port on the laptop that i am using, i'm just using 1 external monitor via hdmi.

    thanks owo.
    I don't think you could even do this, I might be wrong. I've tried it in the past and had no luck.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to SolaceMedicare For This Useful Post:

    Xenon~ (12-29-2020)

  11. #7
    CzechOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Pinoy / Swagapino
    Posts
    619
    Reputation
    269
    Thanks
    181
    My Mood
    Pensive
    You cant split one hdmit port into two seperate monitors without them having the same display but you could turn a usb port into a hdmi one, or have a HDMI splitter and turn the resolution to 3840 x 1080 (idk if this works)

    https://www.amazon.com/Adapter-Conve.../dp/B07RS34B43

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to CzechOne For This Useful Post:

    Xenon~ (12-29-2020)

  13. #8
    Xenon~'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    C:\Windows\System32\Xenon.dll
    Posts
    1,577
    Reputation
    140
    Thanks
    226
    My Mood
    Tired
    As of today, I've reached a conclusion. I don't think I would still try my luck to be able to use 2 external monitors w/ the current laptop I have. I really think it would make things go slower and a bit of crappy for me.

    Btw last question, do any of u know how to stream from a nintendo switch gameplay? I did some google search about this and found about the elgato game capture. I am somewhat unsure how this works so I just want to ask if this would be doable on a laptop connected to my external monitor via hdmi?

    (Outcome I am looking for is to stream my gameplay on *******, at least.)

  14. #9
    Owen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    69
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Xenon~ View Post
    As of today, I've reached a conclusion. I don't think I would still try my luck to be able to use 2 external monitors w/ the current laptop I have. I really think it would make things go slower and a bit of crappy for me.

    Btw last question, do any of u know how to stream from a nintendo switch gameplay? I did some google search about this and found about the elgato game capture. I am somewhat unsure how this works so I just want to ask if this would be doable on a laptop connected to my external monitor via hdmi?

    (Outcome I am looking for is to stream my gameplay on *******, at least.)
    For the switch, you could use an external capture card. But it can be $130-$200, depending on brand and model.
    https://www.tomsguide.com/us/how-to-...ews-26286.html
    https://www.streamscheme.com/how-to-...-capture-card/

    If you have an Xbox One, you can supposedly stream it free through that too


    Edit: What model laptop do you have?

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to Owen For This Useful Post:

    Xenon~ (12-30-2020)

  16. #10
    Xenon~'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    C:\Windows\System32\Xenon.dll
    Posts
    1,577
    Reputation
    140
    Thanks
    226
    My Mood
    Tired
    Quote Originally Posted by Owen View Post
    For the switch, you could use an external capture card. But it can be $130-$200, depending on brand and model.
    https://www.tomsguide.com/us/how-to-...ews-26286.html
    https://www.streamscheme.com/how-to-...-capture-card/

    If you have an Xbox One, you can supposedly stream it free through that too


    Edit: What model laptop do you have?
    I use Dell Inspiron 7559.

    The outcome that I want is to have my laptop connected to 1 external monitor (via hdmi, since that is the only available port), then connect my nintendo switch with it. Not sure if I can do it with the elgato capture card since I really need to connect the laptop to the external monitor because the screen no longer works properly.

  17. #11
    Xenon~'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    C:\Windows\System32\Xenon.dll
    Posts
    1,577
    Reputation
    140
    Thanks
    226
    My Mood
    Tired
    Bumperino.

    Do I have to use at least 2 external monitors? ;c

  18. #12
    Charion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    /index.php/
    Posts
    10,354
    Reputation
    1901
    Thanks
    1,277
    My Mood
    Cold
    You don't have to use 2 external monitors, you could use one, if you really wanted to.
    Reputation power: 52

    BTC:
    18v8EZDH2YJPpgng2m1W41nFwQ6wuDXNDb
    If I helped you in any way or shape of form, it's always appreciated to thank or give a rep!

    | [ Rules ] | [ Market Place ] | [ Scammers Grave ] | [ Report a scammer ] |

    Sitting at the scammers grave is fun, because it gives me an absolute joy to see people who scam be banned and become more irrelevant.

    Achievements:
    News Force - 08-23-2018 - 10-02-2018
    Middleman - 05-09-20 - 19-12-2020

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to Charion For This Useful Post:

    Xenon~ (01-03-2021)

  20. #13
    Xenon~'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    C:\Windows\System32\Xenon.dll
    Posts
    1,577
    Reputation
    140
    Thanks
    226
    My Mood
    Tired
    Quote Originally Posted by Nani View Post
    You don't have to use 2 external monitors, you could use one, if you really wanted to.
    Oooh so everything can work by having all three connected? Laptop w/ broken LCD, must be connected to an external monitor via HDMI only, and the nintendo switch.

  21. #14
    Charion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    /index.php/
    Posts
    10,354
    Reputation
    1901
    Thanks
    1,277
    My Mood
    Cold
    May I ask, in what purpose are you using a Laptop for? Are you a mobilized user that needs a laptop, or is it something else?
    Reputation power: 52

    BTC:
    18v8EZDH2YJPpgng2m1W41nFwQ6wuDXNDb
    If I helped you in any way or shape of form, it's always appreciated to thank or give a rep!

    | [ Rules ] | [ Market Place ] | [ Scammers Grave ] | [ Report a scammer ] |

    Sitting at the scammers grave is fun, because it gives me an absolute joy to see people who scam be banned and become more irrelevant.

    Achievements:
    News Force - 08-23-2018 - 10-02-2018
    Middleman - 05-09-20 - 19-12-2020

  22. #15
    Xenon~'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    C:\Windows\System32\Xenon.dll
    Posts
    1,577
    Reputation
    140
    Thanks
    226
    My Mood
    Tired
    Quote Originally Posted by Nani View Post
    May I ask, in what purpose are you using a Laptop for? Are you a mobilized user that needs a laptop, or is it something else?
    I am poor and that's the only thing I currently have.

    D':

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Top 10 Tech Toys for the Filthy Rich
    By thechewu in forum General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-03-2007, 07:24 PM
  2. Virginia Tech Shooting
    By Dave84311 in forum General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-22-2007, 11:25 PM
  3. Newest Tech Sig
    By EleMentX in forum Art & Graphic Design
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-23-2006, 11:05 PM
  4. New Tech Sigs
    By Jackal in forum Art & Graphic Design
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-17-2006, 07:06 AM
  5. Rate My New Tech sig
    By Jackal in forum Art & Graphic Design
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-07-2006, 07:52 PM