Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Charion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    /index.php/
    Posts
    10,405
    Reputation
    1901
    Thanks
    1,286
    My Mood
    Cold

    Build a new gaming PC 2 weeks ago, worked fine until 3-2 days ago.

    I will emphasis it with this, I am in no hurry to fix the said computer that I used to game on for 2 weeks, however I would like to know how the hell did it broke.

    Here are the PC parts in question (at the time of the problem occurred):
    AMD Ryzen 5 5600x
    16GB of DDR4 Ram Corsair Vengeance
    Nvidia RTX 2070 8GB
    Corsair TSX750M
    Asus TUF Gaming B450M-PLUS II


    Here is the small (hopefully summarization):
    2-3 days ago, my PC would randomly go into this very strange mode where it went to "sleep" but moving the mouse, pressing the keys on the mouse/keyboard wouldn't wake it up, and after restarting the PC, it would restart on it's own after 5-10 minutes being able to use the PC normally, then it was "resolved" for about a day, then around 7-8 PM 2 days ago the PC would restart on it's own again, then 5-10 minutes thereafter it would go into this mode, resulting never posting again / booting.


    Here is what I have done:
    Swap out my GPU from RTX 2070 to Nvidia GeForce 970, still nothing.
    Swapped out my TX750M to some "cheaper" PSU that I had in streaming PC, still nothing.
    I have tried to downgrade the bios to the date when they first started supporting 5000 series CPU's, I have also tried to clear CMOS, take out the battery, and etc.


    Another thing I have done is do really soft crypto mining, I did stress out the CPU/GPU, but it was still usable, and the crypto mining tool that I used was "NiceHash" - I also did soft overclock on Wraith cooler, nothing serious. But then I returned to default settings because I saw no reason to overclock when I have no experience with it, and I don't want to risk my PC breaking (which ended up happening anyways).
    Last edited by Charion; 04-30-2021 at 06:54 AM. Reason: Removed the admin/mod moving thing.
    Reputation power: 52
    If I helped you in any way or shape of form, it's always appreciated to thank or give a rep!

    | [ Rules ] | [ Market Place ] | [ Scammers Grave ] | [ Report a scammer ] |


    Achievements:
    News Force - 08-23-2018 - 10-02-2018
    Middleman - 05-09-20 - 19-12-2020

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Charion For This Useful Post:

    Asgeirr (05-05-2021)

  3. #2
    Asgeirr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    2,274
    Reputation
    78
    Thanks
    293
    Idk could be a few things maybe. I'm not a comp expert or anything but why not share my thoughts.
    So maybe you downloaded something bad, a virus. Or maybe your OS is bad. I'd just reset your computer, it clears everything but maybe it'll work. Considering the computer works I believe it's software messing with it.
    A GPU isn't necessary so don't see that being the problem.
    Hmm overclocked the cpu? Ehhh I wouldn't have done that for mining lol, not worth the risk. GPU is replaceable and not needed, CPU kind of the brain so if that breaks it all breaks... So maybe burned it out? Idk.

  4. #3
    Kitsunebi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    59
    Reputation
    42
    Thanks
    11
    If it's not posting at all; you broke a component, software issues resulting in no-posts are so very scarce these days that it's almost never the case.
    I'd try finding someone with an AM4 motherboard where you can check if your cpu/gpu are still functioning (just swap em in, see if it boots fine, shutdown, swap em out again).
    If they both work, which I assume they do, considering getting a no-post usually requires a bit more damage, I'd buy the same exact motherboard, swap it with yours, and see if that gets your pc to at least post; at which point I'd return the motherboard that wasn't necessary anymore (you'll probably still have warrantee for your motherboard if it's damaged this soon).
    If that doesn't work, you have 2 dead PSU's (highly unlikely).

    Basically; start component swapping, only reliable way to fix hardware imo.

  5. #4
    Charion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    /index.php/
    Posts
    10,405
    Reputation
    1901
    Thanks
    1,286
    My Mood
    Cold
    Quote Originally Posted by Kitsunebi View Post
    If it's not posting at all; you broke a component, software issues resulting in no-posts are so very scarce these days that it's almost never the case.
    I'd try finding someone with an AM4 motherboard where you can check if your cpu/gpu are still functioning (just swap em in, see if it boots fine, shutdown, swap em out again).
    If they both work, which I assume they do, considering getting a no-post usually requires a bit more damage, I'd buy the same exact motherboard, swap it with yours, and see if that gets your pc to at least post; at which point I'd return the motherboard that wasn't necessary anymore (you'll probably still have warrantee for your motherboard if it's damaged this soon).
    If that doesn't work, you have 2 dead PSU's (highly unlikely).

    Basically; start component swapping, only reliable way to fix hardware imo.
    GPU's still work and so do PSU's, getting a new motherboard/ram/psu/cpu next week and to test things on the cheaper / vise versa. getting x570 this time.
    Last edited by Charion; 05-07-2021 at 09:14 AM.
    Reputation power: 52
    If I helped you in any way or shape of form, it's always appreciated to thank or give a rep!

    | [ Rules ] | [ Market Place ] | [ Scammers Grave ] | [ Report a scammer ] |


    Achievements:
    News Force - 08-23-2018 - 10-02-2018
    Middleman - 05-09-20 - 19-12-2020

  6. #5
    ShephardN7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Gender
    male
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    18
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    2
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by Charion View Post


    GPU's still work and so do PSU's, getting a new motherboard/ram/psu/cpu next week and to test things on the cheaper / vise versa. getting x570 this time.
    Hey, save yourself a lot of trouble and test the RAM first. Please check your motherboards QVL list and make sure the RAM you bought is on there.
    Here's the LINK

    Let me know how it goes. I had the same issue, my PC was working great for 2 months and all of a sudden nothing. I was pulling my hair, I called ASUS as I thought it was the mobo and the first thing they asked me is about the RAM. I bought the correct RAM and worked ever since. Very strange as I never encountered any issues like this before, but that was the issue.

  7. #6
    Charion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    /index.php/
    Posts
    10,405
    Reputation
    1901
    Thanks
    1,286
    My Mood
    Cold
    Quote Originally Posted by ShephardN7 View Post
    Hey, save yourself a lot of trouble and test the RAM first. Please check your motherboards QVL list and make sure the RAM you bought is on there.
    Here's the LINK

    Let me know how it goes. I had the same issue, my PC was working great for 2 months and all of a sudden nothing. I was pulling my hair, I called ASUS as I thought it was the mobo and the first thing they asked me is about the RAM. I bought the correct RAM and worked ever since. Very strange as I never encountered any issues like this before, but that was the issue.
    RAM being in QVL list or not does not matter, the PC should work regardless, maybe not as performed as it should if you used the supported ram from QVL, but it doesn't make sense.
    Reputation power: 52
    If I helped you in any way or shape of form, it's always appreciated to thank or give a rep!

    | [ Rules ] | [ Market Place ] | [ Scammers Grave ] | [ Report a scammer ] |


    Achievements:
    News Force - 08-23-2018 - 10-02-2018
    Middleman - 05-09-20 - 19-12-2020

  8. #7
    ShephardN7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Gender
    male
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    18
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    2
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by Charion View Post


    RAM being in QVL list or not does not matter, the PC should work regardless, maybe not as performed as it should if you used the supported ram from QVL, but it doesn't make sense.
    That's what I thought as well, but it does, especially ASUS. Good luck.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Charion View Post


    RAM being in QVL list or not does not matter, the PC should work regardless, maybe not as performed as it should if you used the supported ram from QVL, but it doesn't make sense.
    That's what I thought as well, but it does, especially ASUS. Good luck.

  9. #8
    Charion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    /index.php/
    Posts
    10,405
    Reputation
    1901
    Thanks
    1,286
    My Mood
    Cold
    Quote Originally Posted by ShephardN7 View Post
    That's what I thought as well, but it does, especially ASUS. Good luck.
    Well, I did get supported memory, however there was no QVL for 5000 series on TUF Gaming B450M-PLUS II

    Got a new motherboard anyways that has QVL for both 3000 / 5000 series.
    Reputation power: 52
    If I helped you in any way or shape of form, it's always appreciated to thank or give a rep!

    | [ Rules ] | [ Market Place ] | [ Scammers Grave ] | [ Report a scammer ] |


    Achievements:
    News Force - 08-23-2018 - 10-02-2018
    Middleman - 05-09-20 - 19-12-2020

  10. #9
    peely88's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Gender
    female
    Posts
    11
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Where did you have your PC built?

  11. #10
    Charion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    /index.php/
    Posts
    10,405
    Reputation
    1901
    Thanks
    1,286
    My Mood
    Cold
    Quote Originally Posted by peely88 View Post
    Where did you have your PC built?
    15th last month
    Reputation power: 52
    If I helped you in any way or shape of form, it's always appreciated to thank or give a rep!

    | [ Rules ] | [ Market Place ] | [ Scammers Grave ] | [ Report a scammer ] |


    Achievements:
    News Force - 08-23-2018 - 10-02-2018
    Middleman - 05-09-20 - 19-12-2020

  12. #11
    xflameray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    36
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Random shutdowns -> unable to post sounds like a possible short in your system.

  13. #12
    Charion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    /index.php/
    Posts
    10,405
    Reputation
    1901
    Thanks
    1,286
    My Mood
    Cold
    Quote Originally Posted by xflameray View Post
    Random shutdowns -> unable to post sounds like a possible short in your system.
    It was the CPU.
    Reputation power: 52
    If I helped you in any way or shape of form, it's always appreciated to thank or give a rep!

    | [ Rules ] | [ Market Place ] | [ Scammers Grave ] | [ Report a scammer ] |


    Achievements:
    News Force - 08-23-2018 - 10-02-2018
    Middleman - 05-09-20 - 19-12-2020

  14. #13
    xflameray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    36
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Charion View Post


    It was the CPU.
    Good to hear that you found the issue.

  15. #14
    ShephardN7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Gender
    male
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    18
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    2
    My Mood
    Amazed
    Quote Originally Posted by Charion View Post


    It was the CPU.
    Were there any pins broken/loose? any physical damage? or was it just a lemon?

  16. #15
    Charion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    /index.php/
    Posts
    10,405
    Reputation
    1901
    Thanks
    1,286
    My Mood
    Cold
    Quote Originally Posted by ShephardN7 View Post
    Were there any pins broken/loose? any physical damage? or was it just a lemon?
    No broken / loose pins, I don't know about any of physical damage as I did notice any of it, same with retailer... And, I don't know... The retailer has send the cpu off.
    Reputation power: 52
    If I helped you in any way or shape of form, it's always appreciated to thank or give a rep!

    | [ Rules ] | [ Market Place ] | [ Scammers Grave ] | [ Report a scammer ] |


    Achievements:
    News Force - 08-23-2018 - 10-02-2018
    Middleman - 05-09-20 - 19-12-2020

Similar Threads

  1. Shall I build a new gaming PC now or later?
    By KZee in forum Computer Builds & Upgrades
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-12-2018, 12:44 PM
  2. [WTS] My Steam account, Bought all the games about 1 week ago.
    By cookie113 in forum Selling Accounts/Keys/Items
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-22-2014, 01:48 AM
  3. Building New Gaming & Multimedia Rig
    By Resaun in forum General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-18-2011, 02:11 PM
  4. Building a new Gaming PC
    By Takari in forum Hardware & Software Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-11-2011, 07:19 PM
  5. New call of duty 4 server ! working fine! 100% free 24 jan 2010
    By punkdude205 in forum Call of Duty 4 - Modern Warfare (MW) Hacks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-24-2010, 06:26 AM