Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Gender
    female
    Location
    MEGAN ft $NOT
    Posts
    3,087
    Reputation
    1097
    Thanks
    761
    My Mood
    Scared

    Need help Google Sheets functions

    Already googled for about the last 3 hours can anyone tell me how to automatically cut + move data to another column and how to add conditional formatting the the column NEXT TO where the input is placed? sorry if it doesnt make sense but here is what i'm trying to do (easier to explain with example)

    i know how to do conditional formatting and copy data to another sheet automatically, but idk how to do this:

    as you can see here, what i want is
    Column A automatically MOVE to Column B (not copy A, i want A to be empty and then B filled with its previous data from A)
    If Column B value greater than 0 = Green for Column C
    If Column C less than 0 or no input, = Red for Column C


    also want to learn how to do an excel sheet that is exactly like Supermetrics WITHOUT ONLINE DATABASE?

    basically want i to do is have all these kind of statistics (below) for this kind of data:


    if supermetrics is really hard to do then I'm willing to pay maybe up to $10-20 for you to do or teach me


    Last edited by boy; 07-07-2018 at 02:37 AM.

  2. #2
    Hell_Demon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Gender
    male
    Location
    I love causing havoc
    Posts
    3,976
    Reputation
    343
    Thanks
    4,320
    My Mood
    Cheeky
    You could mimic the move effect by styling the input column so text isn't visible.

    afaik theres no good automatic way to perform this, with scripts you can move but not sure if it works for your needs.

    Code:
    function moveColumn() {
    var ss = SpreadsheetApp.getActive();
    var sheet = ss.getSheetByName('Sheet1');
    sheet .getRange('A:A').moveTo(sheet .getRange('B1'))
    }
    Ah we-a blaze the fyah, make it bun dem!

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Hell_Demon For This Useful Post:

    boy (07-07-2018)

  4. #3
    boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Gender
    female
    Location
    MEGAN ft $NOT
    Posts
    3,087
    Reputation
    1097
    Thanks
    761
    My Mood
    Scared
    Quote Originally Posted by Hell_Demon View Post
    You could mimic the move effect by styling the input column so text isn't visible.

    afaik theres no good automatic way to perform this, with scripts you can move but not sure if it works for your needs.

    Code:
    function moveColumn() {
    var ss = SpreadsheetApp.getActive();
    var sheet = ss.getSheetByName('Sheet1');
    sheet .getRange('A:A').moveTo(sheet .getRange('B1'))
    }
    i have no idea where to input that, can I im you the link and you help me out :^(

  5. #4
    MikeRohsoft's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Los Santos
    Posts
    797
    Reputation
    593
    Thanks
    26,314
    This is what i have so far:
    Code:
    var sheet = SpreadsheetApp.getActiveSheet();
    
    function analyzeData() {
      var rangeData = sheet.getDataRange();
      modColumnOnCondition(rangeData);
      showChart('A1:A2');
    }
    
    function modColumnOnCondition(dataRange) {
      var skips = {};
      var data = dataRange.getValues();
      for (var i = 0; i < data.length; i++) {
        skips[i] = isNaN(data[i][0]);
        if (!skips[i]) {
          sheet
           .getRange('B' + (i + 1) + ':' + 'B' + (i + 1))
           .setBackground(data[i][0] <= 0 ? '#FF0000' : '#00FF00'); 
        }
      }  
      return skips;
    }
    
    function showChart(range) {
       var chart = sheet.newChart()
         .setChartType(Charts.ChartType.BAR)
         .addRange(sheet.getRange(range))
         .setPosition(5, 5, 0, 0)
         .build();
    
      sheet.insertChart(chart);
     
    }
    
    function onOpen(e) {
      var menu = SpreadsheetApp.getUi().createAddonMenu();
      menu.addItem('create Analyze Display', 'analyzeData');
      menu.addToUi();
    }
    Quote Originally Posted by bou View Post


    i have no idea where to input that, can I im you the link and you help me out :^(
    Tools -> Script Editor -> Copy + Paste

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to MikeRohsoft For This Useful Post:

    boy (07-07-2018)

  7. #5
    cfalls's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    206
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    33
    You can use VBA within google sheets?

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to cfalls For This Useful Post:

    MikeRohsoft (07-07-2018)

  9. #6
    MikeRohsoft's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Los Santos
    Posts
    797
    Reputation
    593
    Thanks
    26,314
    Quote Originally Posted by cfalls View Post
    You can use VBA within google sheets?
    good point ^^ moved the thread.

    And no, you can't. It's "Google Script". Looks like JavaScript with some own global provided Objects

  10. #7
    NYCSavage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Gender
    male
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    465
    Reputation
    23
    Thanks
    72
    My Mood
    Happy
    I'm just trying to figure out why you need column A to move to column B? Cant you just use column A or hide column A and have column B mirror it?

  11. #8
    LaurenKnox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    5
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Hell_Demon View Post
    You could mimic the move effect by styling the input column so text isn't visible.

    afaik theres no good automatic way to perform this, with scripts you can move but not sure if it works for your needs.

    Code:
    function moveColumn() {
    var ss = SpreadsheetApp.getActive();
    var sheet = ss.getSheetByName('Sheet1');
    sheet .getRange('A:A').moveTo(sheet .getRange('B1'))
    }
    modern programs show simply unrealistic results

  12. #9
    Ace864's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Gender
    female
    Posts
    1
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    I guess there should be a lot of tutorials online and you can always contact tech support to make it function properly

  13. #10
    LaurenKnox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    5
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    It is a pity that no one was able to help him with this easy question. I'm also very surprised that you didn't find the answer on the Internet yourself. Now a bunch of different video lessons on how to use any office assistants. I also had a question, but related to the chart in google sheets. I was supposed to have a meeting at that time, but I forgot about it at all, and I had to urgently make about 5 diagrams. Unfortunately, everyone was busy in the office and no one could even help me. I was saved then by the article https://blog.coupler.io/how-to-make-...google-sheets/ which was just what I was looking for. I've never typed as fast on a laptop as I did that day. But thanks to that day, I always remembered how to do them correctly, and I never faced such a problem as building something in google sheets.
    Last edited by LaurenKnox; 03-14-2021 at 07:11 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. [Solved] Need Help with FindWindow() function
    By fluffybananas22 in forum Call of Duty: Black Ops 3 Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-29-2016, 02:14 AM
  2. [Help Request] World To Screen function, need help :(
    By can1357 in forum C++/C Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-28-2013, 06:22 PM
  3. [Help] Need help at a PTC Function
    By Headpuster in forum Combat Arms EU Hack Coding/Source Code
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-04-2012, 10:01 AM
  4. Antikick Function, Need Help
    By killerld in forum C++/C Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-27-2009, 08:20 AM