Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    IanSantiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    1
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0

    How to use HDD as a storage device and access files from it

    Hello everyone,

    I have an SSD on my computer, and I've been storing everything on that. Naturally, it's been filling up, and I have a perfectly good formatted HDD available. I thought it'd be as easy as just copy/paste into the HDD, but that doesn't seem to be the case. I had a VM that was quite large, so I moved it over there (copy/paste), but now I can't access it anymore, nor can I search it by typing in its name (I do see it in the window if I navigate over to the folder). I presume its not as easy as just copy/paste

  2. #2
    sbuj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    4,151
    Reputation
    3970
    Thanks
    14,456
    Go to disk partition, format your new hdd (make sure u got it plugged in power and sata) chose a drive letter and thats basically it, you should be able to copy between ssd and hdd easily just read the format part, again i never had a problem transfering with two formatted drives, if you want put it on desktop and then to your hdd it works for me either way
    Last edited by sbuj; 3 Weeks Ago at 07:51 AM.

  3. #3
    uneballe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    92
    Reputation
    18
    Thanks
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by IanSantiago View Post
    Hello everyone,

    I have an SSD on my computer, and I've been storing everything on that. Naturally, it's been filling up, and I have a perfectly good formatted HDD available. I thought it'd be as easy as just copy/paste into the HDD, but that doesn't seem to be the case. I had a VM that was quite large, so I moved it over there (copy/paste), but now I can't access it anymore, nor can I search it by typing in its name (I do see it in the window if I navigate over to the folder). I presume its not as easy as just copy/paste
    Inside vm choose direction where you copyed your vm files. you need to select new location

  4. #4
    Bernard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    25,804
    Reputation
    3159
    Thanks
    3,324
    My Mood
    Worried
    What the other two said. Do what jubs said and yeah some file references may be broken and need fixing as uneballe said.
    Rep. Power: 122



    Minion: 11/28/12-3/15/14

Similar Threads

  1. How to use Cheat Engine for Iridescent Shards and The Rift
    By takadhosil in forum Dead by Daylight Discussion & Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-19-2020, 02:38 PM
  2. [Help] How to use the Bone Matrix (For ESP and triggerbot)
    By KappaMang in forum Counter Strike: Global Offensive Coding & Resources
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-10-2016, 05:28 AM
  3. [Help Request] How to use hacks on modpacks like tekkit and gunemdown
    By Skullkill1 in forum Minecraft Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-20-2015, 09:00 PM
  4. [Tutorial] How to use hacks, like T_T's safer and other tips!
    By publicgamer17 in forum Counter Strike: Global Offensive Tutorials
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-17-2015, 02:11 PM
  5. [Detected] How to use JetBot v2.35 for NA and EU
    By kongking in forum Vindictus Tutorials
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-21-2011, 05:31 AM