Thanks
    My Mood
    Cynical

Can we fight the end of external anti-recoil?

Greetings,

I'm new to these forums. I used to contribute to the MPC Forums back in the day, but moved here when I recently started playing GO.

I'm not a coder, and I have no real programming experience. My bread and butter were material exploits for CS:S, and most of that came to an end with the advent of sv_pure. I imagine it will be even more of a challenge with GO, which seems to be receiving frequent updates and a lot of attention from the developers as it goes through beta.

What excited me about GO was the mechanics of its weapon recoil, which seemed to offer a lot of potential for external anti-recoil programs (a la Day of Defeat). As anyone who played DOD knows, the straight-forward mechanics of weapon recoil in that game made it easy to use external anti-recoil to compensate for. As opposed to, say, CS:S, where spread was largely intangible and difficult to predict.

The trouble with GO, however, is that anti-recoil programs (at least as of August 24, I do not know about earlier in the Beta) don't seem to work. Now, I know nothing about coding whatsoever, but my guess is that the way CS:GO handles controller inputs is designed to preclude the possibility of multiple sources of controller input. Otherwise, I can see no reason why basic cursor-movers like ZeroCool's shouldn't work. They work in-menu with a free-floating cursor, but not in-game when you are moving your point of aim. Due to the lack of a free-roaming spectator mode, I can't say for sure whether it would work there, but I suspect not.

Hooking the engine is obviously out of the question, so we're left (I think) with two options: