Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    kao00723's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    17
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0

    Web Server and Private Server on Same IP/Port?

    I have an interesting question that I hope someone can help me out with.

    I'm going to use c453's website and private server as an example.

    c453 website accessible at port 80 and 8080
    c453 private server accessible at port 80 and 8080

    Both have the same IP's as well.

    So, how exactly is this set up? Are they hosting their website and private server on the same exact IP and ports? How is that even possible? As far as I know accessing say, "crossdomain.xml" or "chars/list" would be routed through the server since they're not actual files or directories but accessing the domain is routed to the actual web server (apache or what not).

    The problem is, if you point a production client to a private server IP then it will read the RequestHandlers like "/crossdomain.xml" but it will not find the website specific files like sfx, music, favicon, css, and js on the separate web server and vice versa.

    My question is how do I get it work like the c453 website where the RequestHandlers and regular website requests work like they're using the same IP and port?

    Any help with this would be appreciated, thanks!

  2. #2
    BlackRayquaza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    574
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    186
    My Mood
    In Love
    80 is their main server and 8080 is their testing server
    YEP cock

  3. #3
    kao00723's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    17
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by BlackRayquaza View Post
    80 is their main server and 8080 is their testing server
    What exactly have you answered here? Nothing....

    Now, maybe someone that actually understands private servers and networking can help me out.

    So, how is it they are using port 80 for the website server and the game server?

  4. #4
    Ahl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Gender
    male
    Location
    /modcp
    Posts
    16,599
    Reputation
    3219
    Thanks
    5,383
    My Mood
    Angelic
    The game server isn't port 80. It is port 2050.

    And for the website server, what are you talking about? The website is where the client is placed. That is it

    The actual server is hosted on a VPS from Ossimic's image from another thread
    News Force Head Editor from 09/14/2018 - 03/02/2020
    Publicist from 11/23/2017 - 06/07/2019
    Global Moderator since 09/24/2017
    Minion+ from 04/16/2017 - 09/24/2017
    Market Place Minion from 04/16/2017 - 09/24/2017
    Minecraft Minion from 02/23/2017 - 09/24/2017
    Realm of the Mad God Minion from 11/06/2016 - 09/24/2017

    Middleman from 09/14/2016 - 09/24/2017
    News Force Editor from 08/23/2016 - 09/14/2018
    News Force (Section of the Week) from 03/21/2016 - 07/17/2017
    News Force (User News) from 10/18/2015 - 09/14/2018

    Donator since 03/16/2015
    Realm of the Mad God Editor from 05/20/2014 - 07/08/2014
    Member since 12/23/2012


    Rep Power: 82

  5. #5
    donran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    952
    Reputation
    41
    Thanks
    955
    My Mood
    Paranoid
    Quote Originally Posted by kao00723 View Post
    Are they hosting their website and private server on the same exact IP and ports? How is that even possible?
    We have combined the website server and private server, if that's what you're asking.
    You can't run one without the other.

  6. #6
    BlackRayquaza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    574
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    186
    My Mood
    In Love
    Quote Originally Posted by kao00723 View Post
    What exactly have you answered here? Nothing....

    Now, maybe someone that actually understands private servers and networking can help me out.

    So, how is it they are using port 80 for the website server and the game server?

    Quote Originally Posted by kao00723 View Post
    c453 website accessible at port 80 and 8080
    c453 private server accessible at port 80 and 8080
    Please read your own posts
    YEP cock

  7. #7
    kao00723's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    17
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by donran View Post
    We have combined the website server and private server, if that's what you're asking.
    You can't run one without the other.
    Very interesting. So when you run "server.exe" from the private server it starts the actual website where the client is hosted as well.

    Would love to know how to get it to work like that. I'd pay for that information.

  8. #8
    donran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    952
    Reputation
    41
    Thanks
    955
    My Mood
    Paranoid
    Quote Originally Posted by kao00723 View Post
    Very interesting. So when you run "server.exe" from the private server it starts the actual website where the client is hosted as well.

    Would love to know how to get it to work like that. I'd pay for that information.
    It doesn't "start the website", it starts a web server.
    You don't really need to pay for that information, you can just Google something like "C# webserver basic shizzle" etc.

  9. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to donran For This Useful Post:

    BlackRayquaza (08-27-2014),kao00723 (08-26-2014),Mitcheel (08-27-2014)

  10. #9
    kao00723's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    17
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by donran View Post
    It doesn't "start the website", it starts a web server.
    You don't really need to pay for that information, you can just Google something like "C# webserver basic shizzle" etc.
    Thank you for the responses. I've been researching this for a couple days now but wasn't quite sure how yours was implemented.

    Was the code for this solely added to the Program.cs under the Server project or were there additional .cs files created? Would it be possible for you to show me a snippet where this code was added?

    And again, thank you for taking the time to respond donran.

  11. #10
    donran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    952
    Reputation
    41
    Thanks
    955
    My Mood
    Paranoid
    Quote Originally Posted by kao00723 View Post
    Thank you for the responses. I've been researching this for a couple days now but wasn't quite sure how yours was implemented.

    Was the code for this solely added to the Program.cs under the Server project or were there additional .cs files created? Would it be possible for you to show me a snippet where this code was added?

    And again, thank you for taking the time to respond donran.
    I haven't really looked into this code, but maybe @C453 or @ossimc82 could give some more information.

  12. #11
    ossimc82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    496
    Reputation
    42
    Thanks
    887
    My Mood
    In Love
    Well, I made the webserver (database server for char/list requests and stuff) able to process html and other webfiles, so the client uses port 80 and the website(c453.pw) uses also port 80 by default:

    The requests if you load the webpage:

  13. #12
    kao00723's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    17
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ossimc82 View Post
    Well, I made the webserver (database server for char/list requests and stuff) able to process html and other webfiles, so the client uses port 80 and the website(c453.pw) uses also port 80 by default:
    Yeah I figured it was something like this, definitely an interesting way of doing it instead of having to edit the production client to somehow accept two different IP's.

    Thanks for the information!

  14. #13
    BlackRayquaza's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    574
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    186
    My Mood
    In Love
    Quote Originally Posted by kao00723 View Post
    Yeah I figured it was something like this, definitely an interesting way of doing it instead of having to edit the production client to somehow accept two different IP's.

    Thanks for the information!
    Why would it need 2 diffrent ip's? Also the reason you can access c453.pw on 2 diffrent ports is because they are 2 diffrent servers.
    YEP cock

Similar Threads

  1. Error in server.exe [Private Server]
    By Invader_Zim in forum Realm of the Mad God Private Servers Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-29-2013, 03:15 AM
  2. [Release] Tales of pirates and private server hack
    By hendo12 in forum Other MMORPG Hacks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-11-2013, 09:40 PM
  3. RotMG Editor and Private Server
    By CrazyJani in forum Realm of the Mad God Private Servers Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-01-2013, 03:43 AM
  4. [RS.com] call of duty 4 1.5 patch and private server patch
    By icuigorz in forum Call of Duty 4 - Modern Warfare (MW) Hacks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-17-2008, 07:16 PM
  5. Server Files/Private Servers
    By Dave84311 in forum General
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 08-10-2006, 10:43 AM