Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    chargn_yeti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Oryx's wine bottle
    Posts
    40
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    5
    My Mood
    Inspired

    Question I'm interested in getting into private server development in the future, but...

    Would've said more in the title but, ya know, character limit. What I mean to say is that I'd like to get into private server development in the future, but before I do that, I'd like to do a bit of coding on my own, using existing sources. What I'm wondering is, what tools do I need, and do any of you crazy-good developers have any serious tips for a beginner? Here's what I have in regards to experience and tools I currently have downloaded, as well as the sources I have to work with.

    Tools I have:
    HeidiSQL
    SharpDevelop 4.4
    Yogda
    XAMPP
    RABCDAsm

    Sources I have downloaded:
    Club559
    MMO Source (same as Club?)
    Doomed Realms
    Fabiano's "Swagger of Doom"
    Phoenix Realms 1.9.2

    I have basic knowledge in terms of coding. I've played a bit with the code in MMOE a long time ago, and I've taken a class on Visual Basic, as well as HTML. Obviously that's not saying much because every language is different, but I do have basic knowledge.

    I do not intend to ever abuse any of the sources I have in my possession, I only want to learn from them and use them to further my knowledge and maybe one day become a developer for one of the awesome private servers that exist at the moment, like Nilly's. Or maybe make custom behaviors for new things.

    So, what this post boils down to, is, a couple of things. First off, I was wondering what software I need for map creation/editing. Same with sprite editing and creation - how does that work? Is it a simple PNG image injection into the server files?
    And also, what programs am I missing that are essential? I tried downloading Visual Studio express 2013, but it required me to buy some license (because I used my trial up a while back to work with MMOE's source). Are there any other versions of Visual Studio that are obtainable without me having to go through the painful process of registering for a paid license or stuff like that? Or do I not even need a Visual Studio?

    Next, to the creators of these private server sources that I'm using, is it okay if I use your sources to further my understanding?

    Lastly, to those such as Nilly or Botmaker, do you as developers have any tips for me in regards to learning this stuff?

    Also, I have looked through the stickied posts and I've looked at just about every tutorial out there already to help myself learn, but I could never find anything good in regards to my questions here, unless I missed them. In which case, I'm very sorry. I looked very hard AND used the search function.

    Thank you in advance if you choose to reply. Thank you so much.

  2. #2
    Nyaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    4,260
    Reputation
    2727
    Thanks
    3,270
    My Mood
    Sleepy
    Its better if you have Visual Studio..
    If u want to release a server
    i would use Phoenix, Fabs, SD or creepylava source
    Phoenix: Has lots of stuff , you dont need to fix much
    Fabs: If u want a prod server
    SD: Its something special nice features etc
    creepylava: U start from 0 and make your own source :P
     
    MPGH Member Level 1 May 2014
    MPGH Donator May 2015
    MPGH Premium Member December 2015
    MPGH News Force Interviewer July 2016 - October 2017
    MPGH Member Level 2 August 2016
    MPGH Premium Seller March 2017
    MPGH Dave's Ballsack Rag - Unknown
    MPGH Realm of the Mad God Minion December 2017 - December 2018

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Nyaro For This Useful Post:

    chargn_yeti (05-22-2015)

  4. #3
            (╭ರ_•)          
    Premium Member
    ~V~'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Posts
    628
    Reputation
    29
    Thanks
    1,478
    The best way to learn programming languages in my opinion is to try new things.Try to delete line, compile and see what you done, if you don't like it undo that and try something else.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to ~V~ For This Useful Post:

    chargn_yeti (05-22-2015)

  6. #4
    chargn_yeti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Oryx's wine bottle
    Posts
    40
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    5
    My Mood
    Inspired
    Right! This is why I downloaded all of the sources. Thank you for replying!

    Nyaro, based on your reply, I'm either gonna work with phoenix or fabs to learn the basics of the code of realm. Thanks for replying man! I really appreciate it.

  7. #5
    crusadorzach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    109
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    214
    My Mood
    Amused
    Only thing I know about is sprite making... One way you can go about using sprites you make is using the realmofthemadgod(dot)com/draw(dot)html tool! Once you have made a sprite on rotmg draw, you can search it using the tag you set it as in the "texture grabber" (should be somewhere in your source files if you open it with sharp develop, just click build on it and it should open). After you search the tag of your sprite, there will be a remote texture ID at the side of whatever you made, just be sure that you tell the item/entty codes that you are putting in a remote texture using: <remoteTexture>
    <Instance>draw</Instance>
    <Id>(ID you found using grabber)</Id>
    </RemoteTexture>

    Just put that on the same line you see it on other items in your source and you should be good for adding new items/entities




    Only problem with remote textures is that they can cause a bit of lag for users as each time soeone joins a world they have to reload all of the remote textures again... So, use with moderation, I guess...

    The other way would be using textures from your source by adding them in (but idk how to do that D




    Hope I helped
     

    Staff Manager of Villoux Realms
    Global Moderator for Fremminik Realms Forums and Admin for Fremminik Realms Server
    Spriter/Moderator for Realms Resolution Server
    Spriter for Project B
    Helper of Owl Realms


     
    • Spriting
    • Moderating
    • XML Item Coding
    • Item Testing/Balancing
    • Dungeon Testing/Balancing



    Normal Text Style:
    MAIN TEXT
    SUB TEXT

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to crusadorzach For This Useful Post:

    chargn_yeti (05-22-2015)

  9. #6
    chargn_yeti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Oryx's wine bottle
    Posts
    40
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    5
    My Mood
    Inspired
    Quote Originally Posted by crusadorzach View Post
    Only thing I know about is sprite making... One way you can go about using sprites you make is using the realmofthemadgod(dot)com/draw(dot)html tool! Once you have made a sprite on rotmg draw, you can search it using the tag you set it as in the "texture grabber" (should be somewhere in your source files if you open it with sharp develop, just click build on it and it should open). After you search the tag of your sprite, there will be a remote texture ID at the side of whatever you made, just be sure that you tell the item/entty codes that you are putting in a remote texture using: <remoteTexture>
    <Instance>draw</Instance>
    <Id>(ID you found using grabber)</Id>
    </RemoteTexture>

    Just put that on the same line you see it on other items in your source and you should be good for adding new items/entities




    Only problem with remote textures is that they can cause a bit of lag for users as each time soeone joins a world they have to reload all of the remote textures again... So, use with moderation, I guess...

    The other way would be using textures from your source by adding them in (but idk how to do that D




    Hope I helped
    Thank you for replying, man! I appreciate it! I didn't know that remote hosting images like that for sprites was possible. I don't intend on doing it that way because I'm not going to be running my server for public use (I will let my brother on it AT THE MOST) but I think that method is really interesting and I really appreciate you walking me through how to use it. It'll help me in the future, I'm sure. Thank you so much.

  10. #7
    crusadorzach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Gender
    male
    Posts
    109
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    214
    My Mood
    Amused
    Quote Originally Posted by chargn_yeti View Post
    Thank you for replying, man! I appreciate it! I didn't know that remote hosting images like that for sprites was possible. I don't intend on doing it that way because I'm not going to be running my server for public use (I will let my brother on it AT THE MOST) but I think that method is really interesting and I really appreciate you walking me through how to use it. It'll help me in the future, I'm sure. Thank you so much.
    Thanks for the thanks, glad I could help
     

    Staff Manager of Villoux Realms
    Global Moderator for Fremminik Realms Forums and Admin for Fremminik Realms Server
    Spriter/Moderator for Realms Resolution Server
    Spriter for Project B
    Helper of Owl Realms


     
    • Spriting
    • Moderating
    • XML Item Coding
    • Item Testing/Balancing
    • Dungeon Testing/Balancing



    Normal Text Style:
    MAIN TEXT
    SUB TEXT

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to crusadorzach For This Useful Post:

    chargn_yeti (05-22-2015)

  12. #8
    chargn_yeti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Oryx's wine bottle
    Posts
    40
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    5
    My Mood
    Inspired
    Quote Originally Posted by Nyaro View Post
    Its better if you have Visual Studio..

    i would use Phoenix, Fabs, SD or creepylava source

    SD: Its something special nice features etc
    Hey, I was wondering, after thinking about your post a bit more, I don't have SD, which I assume is Seraph's Dominion. I couldn't find a decent download for it though, could you point me in the right direction? The only one I could find was fragmented and looked like it had countless errors based on comments in the thread. Thanks again for your post by the way.

  13. #9
    Do not Trade - Blacklisted
    6 Mo. (06/03/15-12/03/15)
    MPGH Member
    Yin Yang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Gender
    male
    Location
    ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    Posts
    592
    Reputation
    18
    Thanks
    680
    My Mood
    Devilish
    Quote Originally Posted by chargn_yeti View Post
    Hey, I was wondering, after thinking about your post a bit more, I don't have SD, which I assume is Seraph's Dominion. I couldn't find a decent download for it though, could you point me in the right direction? The only one I could find was fragmented and looked like it had countless errors based on comments in the thread. Thanks again for your post by the way.
    Client Source
    Server Source

    Both must be downloaded, obviously. One is client, one is server.
    Want a tut on how to set up the client and server?
    How to set up Seraph's Dominion

     
    Visual Studio / Sharp Develop
    IntelliJ
    Yogda/Rabcdasm & Notepad++
    XaMPP (Recommended) or Workbench


    Pretty sure that's all.
     
    Founder and Creator of 'Realm of Fate'
    Donating for rank? Email: sprite123126@gmail.com ; Choose the 'Send money to friends or family' option or else money won't be sent to me until after a month, it will just be pending in my balance, and I need money to pay for vps and keep the server running! Contact me via Skype (below if you haven't added me already) if you have donated!
    Donation rank costs $20, All commands and donor chat color.


    Added [6/12/2015]

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Yin Yang For This Useful Post:

    chargn_yeti (05-22-2015)

  15. #10
    chargn_yeti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Oryx's wine bottle
    Posts
    40
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    5
    My Mood
    Inspired
    Quote Originally Posted by Leecher9000 View Post



    Both must be downloaded, obviously. One is client, one is server.
    Want a tut on how to set up the client and server?

     
    Visual Studio / Sharp Develop
    IntelliJ
    Yogda/Rabcdasm & Notepad++
    XaMPP (Recommended) or Workbench


    Pretty sure that's all.
    Thank you, this was really helpful. I just downloaded IntelliJ and the client/server. I think I'll play with that after I get Phoenix up and running on localhost.

  16. #11
    Nyaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    4,260
    Reputation
    2727
    Thanks
    3,270
    My Mood
    Sleepy
    Quote Originally Posted by Leecher9000 View Post
    Client Source
    Server Source

    Both must be downloaded, obviously. One is client, one is server.
    Want a tut on how to set up the client and server?
    How to set up Seraph's Dominion

     
    Visual Studio / Sharp Develop
    IntelliJ
    Yogda/Rabcdasm & Notepad++
    XaMPP (Recommended) or Workbench


    Pretty sure that's all.
    Thanks my nigga
    you was faster than me
     
    MPGH Member Level 1 May 2014
    MPGH Donator May 2015
    MPGH Premium Member December 2015
    MPGH News Force Interviewer July 2016 - October 2017
    MPGH Member Level 2 August 2016
    MPGH Premium Seller March 2017
    MPGH Dave's Ballsack Rag - Unknown
    MPGH Realm of the Mad God Minion December 2017 - December 2018

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to Nyaro For This Useful Post:

    chargn_yeti (05-22-2015)

  18. #12
    chargn_yeti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Oryx's wine bottle
    Posts
    40
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    5
    My Mood
    Inspired
    So, I got both Fabiano's and Phoenix 1.9.2 up and running. I haven't messed with the rest. I plan on doing some editing tonight, but I'm a little unclear on something... When I edit, let's say, the price of something in the shop in the nexus in Phoenix. Let's say I change the price of something from 10 fame to 100 gold. Do I just save the file/xml/whatever it is, or do I have to rebuild and build the server.sln again? Or is saving the file sufficient? Like, would the change carry over to the client with just a save?

  19. #13
    hydranoid800's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Behind you.
    Posts
    46
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by chargn_yeti View Post
    So, I got both Fabiano's and Phoenix 1.9.2 up and running. I haven't messed with the rest. I plan on doing some editing tonight, but I'm a little unclear on something... When I edit, let's say, the price of something in the shop in the nexus in Phoenix. Let's say I change the price of something from 10 fame to 100 gold. Do I just save the file/xml/whatever it is, or do I have to rebuild and build the server.sln again? Or is saving the file sufficient? Like, would the change carry over to the client with just a save?
    Well, if you're editing in MerchantLists.cs, yea you gotta rebuild. be more specific >.<

  20. The Following User Says Thank You to hydranoid800 For This Useful Post:

    chargn_yeti (05-22-2015)

  21. #14
    chargn_yeti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Oryx's wine bottle
    Posts
    40
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    5
    My Mood
    Inspired
    Quote Originally Posted by hydranoid800 View Post
    Well, if you're editing in MerchantLists.cs, yea you gotta rebuild. be more specific >.<
    I'm sorry!
    I'm new to all of this. I'll try to be more specific in the future.

    Should I just play it cautious and rebuild for every change I make?

  22. #15
    hydranoid800's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Gender
    male
    Location
    Behind you.
    Posts
    46
    Reputation
    10
    Thanks
    8
    Just be mindful of previous drunken edits you may or may not make

    And no, just do it once you're all done and vis studio/sharp develop will help you solve any errors you might have
    Last edited by hydranoid800; 05-22-2015 at 06:11 PM. Reason: Lel grammar man

  23. The Following User Says Thank You to hydranoid800 For This Useful Post:

    chargn_yeti (05-22-2015)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. How do you get a private server? download link please.
    By XdesroyerX in forum Realm of the Mad God Private Servers Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-26-2014, 12:07 AM
  2. [Help Request] Problem with getting into a server
    By X-GameHaXx in forum CrossFire Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-26-2013, 04:31 PM
  3. [Solved] How do i get into modded server?
    By Yawanna in forum Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-11-2011, 12:54 AM
  4. Vindictus Private Server Development ?
    By cadbury2010 in forum Vindictus Discussions
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-04-2011, 10:26 AM